Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 14th Sep 2014 at 5:58 AM

This user has the following games installed:

Sims 2, University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, Apartment Life
Default Memory leaks
Okay, after playing Sims 2 for a while, it's pretty obvious that the game has some HUGE memory leaks. I've found, for example, that if I play too many lots in one sitting, the game starts getting really slow. And heaven help me if anything ever catches on fire, because then the game slows to a snail's pace, and doesn't stop even after the fire is put out. The only thing that fixes the problem is quitting the game and restarting it.

Has anyone ever considered, or does one already exist, making a mod that fixes these memory leaks? I have no experience with modding, so I have no idea how hard that would be, but it's getting really annoying and I'm just curious if there's a fix out there somewhere. >_>
Advertisement
Instructor
#2 Old 14th Sep 2014 at 4:26 PM
The game slowing down as you play and when things catch fire is not normal. I have never seen that happen. More likely your graphics card or cpu are becoming overheated.
Mad Poster
#3 Old 14th Sep 2014 at 4:42 PM
I have played Sims 2 for over 8 hours at a time and have never had a slow down.

All my Beginning Hoods here at MTS. http://www.modthesims.info/member.php?u=7749491
All my Beginning Hoods as Shopping Districts plus Old Town. http://www.modthesims.info/download.php?t=523417
MooVille, a tribute to Mootilda and her fabulous lots http://www.modthesims.info/download.php?t=534158
Test Subject
Original Poster
#4 Old 14th Sep 2014 at 5:37 PM