Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Field Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 9th Jul 2009 at 3:32 PM

This user has the following games installed:

Sims 3
Default Error Code 12
When trying to save the game, I am suddenly continually getting Error Code 12, and it refers me to check the readme file - which I do not have. I installed from a digital download, not sure if that makes a difference, but I don't have the readme, and I didn't delete anything when I installed The Sims 3.

I've played the game since its release date, and only this week started seeing Error Code 12.
It started happening while I was playing Sunset Valley, and instead of saving every time I changed households, I just hit continue.
I'm not a programmer, but it crossed my mind that perhaps it was something to do with too much game play stacking up that needed saving.

Anyway, I did a few scans of this site and some other sites, I see where other people have had this issue, but I haven't come across any resolution.

I am now playing Riverview. Saving every 5 minutes seemed to do the trick - until I added a very small fishing hole on the lot I was playing. Tried to save, got the code, cursed for a few minutes, endured the loading crashes from Awesomemod, get back in the game finally. I completed NO GAMEPLAY after the reload, the game was paused. I added the fishing hole again, and tried to save. Error Code 12.

Is it length of time between saves? Is it the water? I dunno. I'd like to see some more exploration and discussion on this.
Advertisement
Coffee, anyone?
retired moderator
#2 Old 9th Jul 2009 at 8:01 PM
Error code 12 appears to be a World File save issue. It appears to be hardware/software memory related from what I can gather at other sites.

Can you duplicate this with fresh user files and no custom content? Have you patched your game?