Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 12th Dec 2016 at 3:31 AM
Default Need help with texture for facial hair mesh
Hello, I'm pretty new to modding (I've learned how to play around with textures, create tattoos, that sort of thing but now I'm looking to learn how to handle meshes) and I'm trying to convert a facial hair from Dragon Age: Inquisition. Most of the facial hair tutorials I've seen are just drawn on like eyebrows, I haven't found any that use meshes. So, I've just tried to follow along and copy everything that the game's beards/moustaches have. But I've definitely gone wrong somewhere. The texture is showing up behind the moustache on the skin, creating a weird double shadow look (it's also not quite sitting right, but I think that's a problem with the texture I made?).

Any help or tutorials you could point me to would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Screenshots
Advertisement
Ms. Byte (Deceased)
#2 Old 12th Dec 2016 at 11:38 PM
I assume you cloned a game beard/mustache? Did you uv map the mesh to the same part of the texture that the game beard/mustache uses? From looking at the picture my guess is that your mustache mesh is uv mapped to the face area of the texture, so the texture is showing up on both the mustache mesh and the face underneath. If you want to upload your package I can take a look and hopefully give you a better explanation.

Please do not PM me with mod, tutorial, or general modding questions or problems; post them in the thread for the mod or tutorial or post them in the appropriate forum.

Visit my blogs for other Sims content:
Online Sims - general mods for Sims 3
Offline Sims - adult mods for Sims 3 and Sims 4
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 13th Dec 2016 at 1:11 PM
Quote: Originally posted by CmarNYC