Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 17th Jun 2009 at 12:21 PM
Default Transparent patterns?
im looking to make a plastic/glass looking texture that makes the object near see through. im just wondering if transperent textures are possible.
Advertisement
Test Subject
#2 Old 17th Jun 2009 at 6:21 PM
I'm TOTALLY new to Sims modding, but I guess you should use an alpha channel layer. An alpha channel is a b&w image that defines what's transparent (or translucent (grays)).
world renowned whogivesafuckologist
retired moderator
#3 Old 17th Jun 2009 at 6:27 PM
hukes - That doesn't work. Alpha channels on patterns are not used for transparency - they're used as a 4th colour palette option (y'know how you have up to 4 possible colours to change per pattern in Create a Style? Alpha channel is the 4th one).

my simblr (sometimes nsfw)

“Dude, suckin’ at something is the first step to being sorta good at something.”
Panquecas, panquecas e mais panquecas.
Test Subject
#4 Old 17th Jun 2009 at 6:40 PM
Oh, there you go. I didn't know that. I took a wild guess, since alpha channels are used for transparency in Second Life.

Thanks for clearing that up.
Eminence Grise
#5 Old 17th Jun 2009 at 10:54 PM
In fact, all four of the pattern layers in CaST patterns function like transparency channels... where the image is white you get solid color, and where it's black that layer is transparent, and shows the layer beneath it, with shades of gray representing different amounts of transparency.