Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 11th Aug 2007 at 2:41 AM
Default Changing a sim's species (a.k.a. The Dr. Moreau Complex)
I hope I'm posting this message to the right place. If this is the wrong place, I won't feel bad if this post is deleted or moved. I apologize in advance if I'm doing something wrong.

I have been playing with SimPE for a few months, and noticed that there is a 'Species' option in the overview. Being my inquisitive self, I decided to experiment with it. I made some interesting discoveries:

1.) The affected sims were moved to the pet column, and could no longer be controlled (boolprop ControlPets on remedies control issues)

2.) The affected sims started acting like cats and had some human animations. They eventually quit using human animations altogether. The cat animations were severely flawed (I can only assume that the animation nodes are oriented differently)

3.) Other sims still have the interactions list for dealing with human sims, but the affected sims have menus appropriate for pets. The affected sims could still beg for treats. Any time a human sim tried to interact with the affected sims (as humans), the action would cancel (I assume because of missing animations) Also, the only way affected sims could recover was if they used items available to all sim types (namely the beds)

4.) After a while, the game kept halting because of the missing animation numbers. This increased in frequency until I was forced to either delete the affected sims, or leave the house.