Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 24th Jan 2017 at 6:49 PM
Default Bumpmap assignment help
Hey, I'm looking through bumpmap creation in the tutorials, but it looks as though the bumpmap is assigned to the mesh. I tried altering the assignment in CTU(from the original to a blank one because, honestly, I'm a noob for now), and I clicked commit but the bumpmap is still there. I went over a tutorial and it looks like I need to edit the assignment in Blender, but there are only instructions for Milkshape. Does anyone know what I would need to do in Blender?
Advertisement
Alchemist
#2 Old 25th Jan 2017 at 6:33 PM
CTU indeed has some quirks when it comes to editing the bumpmap, but the good part is that you don't need Blender to edit it.

What I recommend is getting all your images (base, specular, mask, bumpmap) ready, and using S3PE to replace the resources within the package. Simply right-click the image you wish to replace, select Replace..., and find your edited image. This way is easier and more practical in my opinion, because you are not restricted to keeping the same filename as the resource you edited (you would need to do this if you went the Resource \ Import \ From File... route).

I really do recommend using CTU only for editing presets. If you import images in it, they won't keep their resource name and will not replace the existing ones in the package, which means duplicate images if you don't delete the unedited versions.

I've honestly never tried making the bumpmap blank so I don't know what effect it has, but this bumpmap creation tutorial is very easy to follow.

Tumblr - more downloads! ◾ CC reuploads / creator backupsTS3 CAS Conversion Catalog - for basegame, EP, SP, and Store clothing!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 25th Jan 2017 at 7:11 PM