Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Top Secret Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Oct 2018 at 9:55 PM
Default The Sims Wiki is getting its URL changed to "sims.fandom.com"
Hello Simmers. I am k6ka, and I am an admin on The Sims Wiki on Wikia...

Okay, so since I'm guessing at least some people know me here, I'm going to skip the silly formalities and just jump straight to the point. Now I know this isn't strictly Sims 2 related (it affects players of all games in the series), but I think enough people use the wiki here for this to be worth posting in.

As you may or may not already know, The Sims Wiki doesn't host its own servers, but rather is located on a wiki hosting service that used to be called "Wikia", which also hosted thousands of other wikis like ours. The Sims Wiki should not be confused with SimsWiki.Info, which is also a great site, but we're not related to each other. Anyways, The Sims Wiki's current URL is http://sims.wikia.com, as it has been since February 2005 (fun fact: this was the first edit made to the wiki!).

This will soon change, however. Wikia has increasingly gravitated towards a new name: "FANDOM", a rather non-descriptive and misleading name as it no longer seems to imply they're a wiki farm, but rather some cheap entertainment website with clickbaity titles and irritating fullscreen ads... if you've seen any of those on The Sims Wiki, we really do apologize--we have no control over those things (it's against their Terms of Use to try to hide them for everyone) and we really don't like these changes either. Wikia changed their name to "FANDOM powered by Wikia", and now they're dropping that last part to be straight up "FANDOM". They're really rubbing in this new name like rubbing a lemon on an open wound, and it sucks.