Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 5th Nov 2013 at 3:03 AM
Default Help w/ CC Pattern Overwrite Problem in Exported Lot
I am a builder and have published several lots on TSR. Now I have a persistent pattern bug that I can't figure out or get rid of.

When I build a lot that I intend to publish, I build the lot using my current game build. By current game build, I mean I have all my mods installed, and about 2000+ custom content files installed. All the patterns I have installed are from TSR. All the custom content used is only from .sims3packs. I do not install other lots in my current game build so I know the only content installed is that which I've installed using the launcher.

Then I test the lot in a vanilla game. By vanilla game, I mean removing the "The SIms 3" file from the "Electronic Arts" folder, then allowing the Launcher to rebuild the "The Sims 3" file with no custom content installed. I use a vanilla-build game to install the lot I'm testing, then place that lot in Sunset Valley in the vanilla game and play it. So: my lot is the only thing installed along with the custom content packaged with it.

Here's the problem:

1. Using my current game build, I built a lot from scratch. I used custom content objects, but no custom patterns. I exported this lot and re-imported it into a vanilla game as explained above. Result: Every pattern in the re-imported lot/vanilla game is exactly like it is when I exported the lot. So far so good.