Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 22nd Jun 2006 at 2:14 PM
Default Modding The Sims into an educational game
Hey, I'm in 2nd year university and I'm trying to build a concept I have. Essentially, it's making educational games on the philosophy that they need to be fun, to the point of being addictive, first, educational second.

What I want to do is create a mod of the sims where the player can pick various careers, then go to work and actually do work. My current concept is using it to teach physiology/medical stuff.

The player would pick the doctor career, but when they left for work each morning they would end up spawning in a new building, a hospital. So far so good, from my understanding it's pretty similar to the sims open for business expansion pack, although I haven't played it yet.

However, what I want to do next is overhaul the career system. While at work you would see patients; if you were diagnosing them you would receive a list of symptoms from them. You figure out whats wrong with them, give them a prescription, and hope it works. They could come back later and if you fixed them, you could eventually receive a promotion. If not, you might get demoted, even sent back to medical school.

Also, if you're not nice to your patients they might not give you the information you need to make your diagnosis. If you're really mean you might even stop getting patients, and receive demotions. You'd also have to get along with nurses and other staff at the hospital, and have to make friends here to get promotions.