Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 2nd May 2017 at 6:54 AM
Default Gender in the Sims 4 and how can it be incorporated in modding? (Modding Discussion/Experimentation)
Hey guys, new to the community but not to the Sims, and I have something I want to discuss the possibility of with the modding community.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to modding, so pardon me if this sounds completely inane and asinine. I'm more curious than actually requesting any sort of mod (I know we're not supposed to make requests on these boards anyways), so consider this a symposium more than anything.

Many, many months ago, I had quit and given up on the Sims 4, but I immediately came straight back when EA announced their patch to make gender more fluid and less binary. While simplistic, I loved that they at least acknowledged some of the spectrum in game terms, allowing us to make characters who may be "male" in a strict sense but also have female characteristics, or vice versa. I also like that it's much easier to switch gender and even sex on the fly, even if the game mechanics themselves don't really acknowledge it. As a transgender individual who has always been fascinated by the fluidity of gender and sex, I have always tried to incorporate some form of transgender storytelling into my game, even if I had to do so in a more narrative and less mechanical sense.